Start – Stop – Continue 1/31#MTBoS

Just read about a blogging challenge for the month of July.  I tried this with #MTBoS30 and only got up to 12.  This time around I’m going to divide and conquer across four blogs I have various levels interactions with: transformulas.org, DailyDesmos, and #ggbchat.

For post 1 of 31, the theme is a derivative from others and it focuses on the past, present and future goals with 3 items for each of the Start, Stop, and Continue theme.

Start:

  • Desmos API:  I am so excited about this one.  I’m a huge fan of @geogebra and @desmos (and pretty much any other dynamic math visualization tool).  After an open invitation from Chris Lusto, I’m excited to learn from others.
  • Books: I read one book this summer so far.  Looking forward to the next.  There’s something about the raw nature of a book that balances out my passion for and interaction with technology (my wife would probably say it leans more toward addiction).
  • Cross Curricular: Late in the year this last season of school, I spoke with a science teacher about integrating geogebra applets into a physics setting.  There’s too many overlaps with math and science NOT to exploit the potential collaboration opportunities. With the CCSS Standards for Mathematical Practice we are also seeing an increased focused in constructing arguments, organizing evidence, and making sense of problems.  These type of frameworks lend to collaboration with Humanities.  This conversation of cross curricular collaboration is too far overdue.

Stop:

  • Driving (as much as possible): My car, a lovely Buick that has passed from my grandparents, to my great aunt, and now onto me, is nearing it’s end.  I only live 6.5 miles from work.  There is also a Super Target less than a mile away.  I like to ride my bike, and I feel like I don’t show it the love that it deserves.  Time to stop driving (when possible) and start riding more.
  • Frustrations with Growing Pains in CCSS: There is plenty of argument and frustration with the changes in education.  Progress and growth doesn’t jive well with those who have established systems in place.  Education is a continual evolution that I’ve learned to embrace.  Those that resist this change often take plenty of shots at new ideas.  I will concede that new ideas without proven track records can be a gamble.  However, I feel that the mantra, “If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it” has little place in education.  I feel it’s better to apply a growth mindest and look at education as “Don’t knock it till to try it.”  Learning that something doesn’t work is still learning, and that should be our focus, learning.
  • Playing Candy Crush: Level 140 has been stuck on my phone for a month.  Seriously, why do I continue.  I’m done.

Continue:

  • CCSS: it’s not that I have to re-learn math, or teaching, or learning.  This label is probably overused if nothing else.  I look at recent transitions in education, especially in math, and am glad for the increased coherence and creativity.  My most recent ambition is learning more about the progressions.
  • Geogebra:  Recently a group of colleagues and I started a #ggbchat on twitter.  I’ve only been using this software for about a year, but the potential has only grown the more interactions I have with it.  I plan to get more organized with my work, especially in ways that makes the applets more user friendly for students.
  • #MTBoS: OHHHH, EMMMM, GEEEEE.  If you’re reading this post, hopefully you’re already aware of the gold mine that exists out there on the net.  Get plugged in, buckle up, and try not to blink.  You will be overwhelmed, and it will be awesome.

So now, your turn: What do you plan to Start, Stop, and Continue?

About Mr-Butler

Math Teacher Volleyballer Crochet Crazy Puzzle Gamer

Posted on July 2, 2014, in Common Core, July14 Challenge, Professional Development, Reflection and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thank you for this thoughtful post. I’m glad you’re joining the challenge. I’ve really enjoyed learning from you this year and plan to be able to learn a lot more as I increase my stamina for the MTBoS. Thanks for being here.

  2. Love your personality! I’m doing the July challenge also!
    Follow me at sinedsealedcalculated@blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

